Promoting high-quality, affordable, and accessible post-secondary education for New Mexicans

The New Mexico Association of Community Colleges (NMACC) is a 501(c)3 non-profit educational organization. Our mission is to support member colleges in their efforts to provide New Mexico citizens high quality, affordable, and accessible post-secondary educational opportunities.

Community Partnerships

NMACC serves the nine branch campuses of Eastern New Mexico University, New Mexico State University, and the University of New Mexico. Accomplishing our mission requires collaboration and teamwork among community college faculty, staff, and students, with financial investment from New Mexico taxpayers. Engaging legislators and residents within the communities we serve is vital to the success of our students.

Research shows that the factor most closely correlated with upward mobility in our society is the level of educational attainment. As long as educational achievement keeps up with technological gains, more jobs will be created.


As an association, NMACC serves as a vehicle for promoting the community college mission in the state of New Mexico by:

Coordinating the exchange of creative ideas and common experiences across branch community colleges in New Mexico

Compiling, analyzing, and distributing information that is relevant to community college issues and activities

Informing NM Higher Education priorities, policy, and practice in collaboration with other NM institutions of higher education

Supporting intentional interactions between NMACC members and other institutions of higher education in the state

Providing information to legislative bodies, state agencies, and elected officials to inform their decision-making

Representing such concerns and positions in relevant forums before public bodies

These efforts help address the barriers to education many in the state face, as well as help develop economic opportunity and fuel job creation in New Mexico.

NMACC Officers

Mónica F. Torres, Chancellor, NMSU System Community Colleges

Mary Gutierrez, Chancellor, UNM-Taos

Ryan Trosper, President, ENMU-Ruidoso

Shawn Powell, President, ENMU-Roswell